In the Project plan tab you set the structure for your project (timeline and phases), add project members to it and allocate resources for your team.
You can either enter the details manually or use another project as a template. When using an existing project as a basis of your new project, you can select what information to copy (for example phases, resourcing, pricing, fees, files and links). For example you might have a project with a similar project group and phase structure (project plan) but the rest differs. When using the template, you only include the sections that apply and leave others out. And if needed, you can use multiple projects as a template.
Project completion % is automatically calculated based on work hours. You also have an option to estimate the project completion manually. Entering an estimated completion, overrides the automatic calculation based on work hours. If you want to reinstate the automatic calculation, clear the field.
In the breakdown, you can quickly view
- Hours entered and their status when work hour approval is in use.
- Billable rate for all users and individual users as pie chart.
- Team productivity
Done / Estimate column displays both entered and estimated hours. By clicking the link in Done column, you can view the hour entries in more detail.
If you want to edit the estimate, just click on the field and edit the value.
Members column shows you the amount of members linked to your project and phases. By clicking the icon, a list of current members is opened and depending on your permissions you can edit the project group. When adding new members to project, you have the option to add the new members to all phases instead of just project level. Same applies, if your phase tree has phases and sub-phases.
If you have added a project member to project only and later need to add them to all phases, click Members on project level. Hover your mouse over the specific user, click the three dots that appear and select Add as member to all phases.
Activities column shows you the amount of completed activities vs planned activities. By clicking the icon you'll see a list of past and planned activities and have the possibility to add new ones. When you hover your mouse over an activity, you'll also find full editing options (edit, postpone, delete and mark as completed).
You have the option to prevent users from entering hours to a specific phase, by clicking the Lock icon next to activities icon. If you need to reopen them, just click the icon again.
When you add phases to a project, project level is automatically locked.
When a phase is completed, you can mark it as Completed in the phase tree.
When viewing an on-going project (in Project overview or Project), completed phases can be recognized by a green background colour. If you don't wish to show the phases that are already completed, you have an option to hide them.
You can access more project and phase related details by clicking the three dots. For example,
- edit project and phase timeline (start time and deadline)
- set default work types (overrides users default)
- add entries (work hours, fees and travel expenses) for phases
Phase timelines are displayed on gantt. You can change the timeline by using the slider or by clicking the letters (Y, M, W and D) above the slider. Project timelines can also easily be edited on gantt view using the dragging option.
Did you find it helpful?Send feedback