When you access project plan tab you can see a breakdown of project hours and productivity:
- Hours entered and their status when work hour approval is in use
- Billable rate for all users and individual users as pie chart
- Team productivity
In the project plan you can divide your project into smaller parts called phases. When project is created, you should first:
- Set the project start date and deadline
- Add phases and start dates and deadlines and hour estimates
Then you can add project members to project and phase level.
You can also use an existing project plan as the basis of your new project using the Add project template button. When using templates you can select what to copy (phases, activities, resourcing, pricing, fees, files and links). See more from Using project templates article.
When viewing an on-going project, completed phases can be recognized by green background color. If you don't wish to show the phases that are already completed, you have an option to hide them.
Project completion %
Project completion % is automatically calculated based on work hours. You also have an option to estimate the project completion manually. Entering an estimated completion overrides the automatic calculation based on work hours. If you want to reinstate the automatic calculation, clear the field.
Done/Estimate column displays both entered and estimated hours. By clicking Done hours link you can view the hour entries in more detail. If you want to edit the estimate, just click on the field and edit the value.
Members & activities
Members column shows you the amount of members linked to the project/phase. By clicking the icon, a list of members is opened and depending on your access rights you can edit the project group.
Activities column shows you the amount of completed activities vs planned activities. By clicking the icon you'll see a list of past and planned activities and have the possibility to add new ones. When you hover your mouse over an activity, you'll also find full editing options (edit, postpone, delete and mark as completed).
Prevent entering hours
By clicking the icon next to activities icon locks the phase from work hours. When you add phases to project, project level is automatically locked (red lock). If you need to reopen the phase just click the icon.
You can access phase details by clicking the three dots. For project level you have for example the option to edit phase timeline (start time and deadline) and set default work type (overrides users default). For phase level you also have the option to set phase status and delete the phase.
Phase time lines are displayed on gantt. You can change the timeline by using the slider or by clicking the letters (Y, M, W and D) above the slider. Project timelines can also easily be edited on gantt view using the dragging option.