Follow

Allocating resources

In the Project plan tab on a project, you can view and edit the resource allocations by opening the Members & activities section.

When you expand the project or phase, you see the members working on it. Next to each member on the left-hand side, you see how much each person has been allocated and has already worked in hours. On the right-hand side in the gantt, you see the resource allocations on a timeline, as well as the current workload of the person with flattened, color-coded bars on top of the allocations.

4.jpg

When you add new members to the project, you can filter down the selection if you are searching for people from a specific unit or with specific capabilities (keyword). The availability filter enables you to narrow down the list of people to those who have the selected amount of hours available during the phase time frame. This corresponds to the amount of hours shown in the ‘Availability during phase’ next to each person, which is also shown as percentage of the employee’s total capacity.

5.jpg

Quick allocate

The allocated time should most often correspond to work hour estimates in the project plan, so this is what we try to help with. The quick allocate function allows you to quickly divide the work hours estimates as resource allocations to the project members. You can divide unallocated hours on the whole project level or individually by phase.

Unallocated hour amounts on a phase are calculated by subtracting resource allocations from the work hour estimate. On the project level, it is a sum from all phases where resource allocations in hours are less than the work hour estimate. The amount is also shown as "unallocated" in the project phase tree next to the work hour estimate.

phases.jpg

Before you use the quick allocation feature, we recommend you to set the timeline for the project and phases, and select members for the project and different phases if you have an idea who you are going to use.

Once you are done with the project plan and members, and you want to quickly divide all hours in your project as resource allocations, launch the quick resourcing from the action bar in the project plan.

navi_icons.jpg

When you open the Allocate work hours view, you see all the phases which have unallocated hours. You can also view and edit the members for the project and phases in this view.

allocate_icon.jpg

Pressing the Add allocations button will by default divide work hour estimates evenly to the phase members selected. If there is an issue with a member’s availability on the phase’s timeline, an orange triangle will highlight it.

Expanding a phase allows you to view the availability of the members in more detail and edit the division of allocations. You can edit the allocations by clicking on the value in the Allocation column. You can also change the allocation from hours to percentages of the phase work hour estimate. Once you edit an allocation of one person, the other allocations are automatically adjusted to keep the total allocations in line with the work hour estimate. If you want to undo your changes, you can click the Reset allocations button which will revert the amounts to be allocated back to even division for all members.

quick_allocations.jpg

Once you hit Add allocations, the resource allocations for each member are created for all phases. The default timeline for the resource allocations are the same as the phase timeline, and they are locked to that - as indicated by the lock icon in each end of a resource allocation. Locking means that if you choose to change the timeline of the phase, the allocations will move correspondingly.

lock_res.jpg

Alternatively, you can use the quick allocation feature on phase-level - the logic is the same as described above. If there is an equal amount or more resource allocations in hours than the work hour estimate, the button is disabled.

quick_allocate.jpg

Adding and editing resource allocations

You can add resource allocations for a person by clicking on the gantt canvas next to the person. When you click the canvas, you get the New allocation pop-over. Here you can select manually the amount of hours to be allocated, and change the timeline for the allocation. You also have the option to allocate as percentage of the person’s total capacity.

new_allocation.jpg

If you add resource allocations by clicking on the canvas, the default timeline for the allocation is that week. This does depend also on your zoom level, so if you have zoomed in, for example to a two weeks’ time frame, the default will be one day.

If you want to allocate the hours for the duration of the phase, you can lock the new allocation to the phase’s start or end by clicking the ‘Phase start’ or ‘Phase deadline’ buttons. In this case the allocation will be locked to the duration of the phase, as indicated by the lock icon in each end of the resource allocation. Afterwards, if you change the timeline of the phase, the allocations will move correspondingly. The phase start and end dates are also shown in the mini calendar, if you select the dates using it.

After you have added a resource allocation, you can easily edit the timeline for it by dragging from either end or moving the whole bar by clicking it and dragging it.

If you click open an existing allocation, you get the Edit allocation pop-over. The difference between this and the New allocation pop-over is that you can view the person’s progress and use a few other actions regarding the allocation.

The top bar in the Phase progress section depicts how much of the total hours are estimated, allocated and done on the phase level. The bottom bar depicts how many hours the person has been allocated in total on the phase, and how many hours he has entered.

phase_progress.jpg

In the More actions section you can move the resource allocation to a different phase or project, or change to whom the hours are allocated to. You also have a Split option, which comes in handy for example when the person needs to do some work in the beginning of a phase, and later on in the end of the phase. The split button splits the allocation from the point where you clicked the allocation bar, and divides the hours to the two new allocations based on their relative lengths.

more_actions.jpg

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Powered by Zendesk