Entering work hours
Work hours are entered in the Time & Expenses view. When choosing Add work hours a list of available projects is opened. Favorite projects are shown on top and you can easily mark a project or a phase as a favorite by clicking the star icon next to the appropriate project.
You can also search for a specific project by typing:
- Customer name or number
- Project name or number
- Phase name
All matches are highlighted so you'll easily see if the match is in customer's name, project name and so on. This feature is handy when you get many matches for your search.
Depending on your access rights you can join a project from here. By default all projects available are listed. Consider using the search if the list is long. After you have selected the project, you are automatically forwarded to enter hours for that project and mandatory fields are automatically filled.
- Work type: Default work type comes primarily from Phase and secondarily from Project. If default are not set then default is taken from user's settings.
- Work hours: Default amount of hours is calculated based on the daily hours set on user's work contract. If user has already entered hours the amount is calculated Daily hours - Entered hours. If the amount of daily hours is already reached or hours are not expected for that date, default is always 1.
If you are using overtimes, menu for choosing the appropriate overtime is shown.
If you need to modify the entry afterwards just click on the row you need to edit. Hovering your mouse over it enables Internal comment and Delete options.
Add entry from activities section shows all activities added for the specific day and you can quickly use an activity as a base for your hour entry. If customer and project are added for the activity, these are used automatically.
Copy previous date feature allows you to copy all entries added to previous date as a basis for current day. This comes handy and saves time when you work on the same projects. NOTE: The button is inactivated when you add entries to time & expenses. Consider using the copy function before entering anything else for that day.
Complete the day closes the day for entries and the day is shown as green on mini calendar and week strip. If you need to edit/add/delete entries you have the option to reopen the day. Day completion can be used as a value and filter on work hour reports
Did you find it helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.