The easiest way to invoice a specific project is through that project. This can also be done via Invoicing > Create invoices where you can find all billable projects in one view.
When project has billable content the Billable button located in the top right shows the total amount. Even if there isn't anything yet to be billed you can create a draft invoice using the same button.
Some of the details shown on invoice are taken from invoice template (like Free text fields and invoice settings) and some from project/company settings.
- Our reference
- Your reference
- Order number
- Billing contact
- Payment terms
- Invoice template
- Invoice notes (invoice specific if not given under Project settings)
- Billing customer (Billing address and contact)
You can also see relevant KPI values under the KPI section of the invoice. KPI values are taken from Settings > KPI > Invoice Indicators.
All billable hours, travels and fees are automatically shown on draft invoice. You can also add new fees directly on invoice.
It is possible to add PDF attachments to an invoice either by dragging or by browsing the file.
When you are done with the invoice set it to an appropriate status.
If you want to review the invoice PDF just open the menu next to Close button and select View as PDF.
Editing invoice rows
When you click on a specific invoice row it opens for editing and you can update for example the quantity or unit price (1). Accounting information can be also viewed and edited there or by hovering you mouse at the end of a specific row when the icon for accounting info appears (2).
When editing travel or hour entry on invoice, only the invoice row is affected. Users entry won't be affected. When editing fees, changes are also updated to both project and Time & Expenses view if the fee is linked to a specific user.
There are two ways to remove rows from invoice. Select the rows you want to remove and depending on your needs select either Bill later (rows will be billed at some point) or Set as non-billable (rows won't be billed) from the actions shown on top.
Bill later removes the rows from that specific invoice and marks the rows billable. When you create a new invoice for that project the rows will be there automatically. Set as non-billable removes the rows and marks the rows as non-billable so those won't appear on new invoices automatically. Rows are stored on project and can be manually billed if needed.
Invoice row reordering
To change the order of invoice rows, hover your mouse in front of the row so that the drag and drop icon appears. You can move both subtotals and individual rows using drag and drop. The changes are saved for that invoice only.
Ordering of the rows should be done as last change to the invoice, since if you decide to add more rows or change the invoice grouping settings, the invoice rows are returned to the original order.
Uninvoiced items -section lists both items removed from invoice and items that are not yet billable like fees where the billable date is in the future. You can manually add these rows onto your invoice by selecting the row and choosing Bill now from the actions shown on top.